Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private healthcare outweigh the disadvantages?

A growing number of hospitals are now run by money-generating companies. While I accept that this trend brings some drawbacks, I believe that it is more likely to have many long term advantages for all citizens. On the one hand, it cannot be denied that private health care services may have some disadvantages. Firstly, treatment fees of these centres are higher than those run by governments so that low-income individuals cannot afford to use their services. In other words, these health care service providers only serve a small group of citizens, which may pose a threat to social equality. Furthermore, governments may struggle to monitor treatment processes in private hospitals, leading to unwanted deaths. Take Vietnam, for example, many patients died because independent hospitals used unauthorized methods and some illegal types of medicine to treat them. On the other hand, I would argue that the drawbacks are outweighed by the potential benefits. Independent health care centres make a profound contribution to solving the overcrowding of state health care centres. A reduction in the number of patients may improve the treatment efficiency and the quality of hospitals’ services. Besides, private hospitals, which are operated by large companies or organizations tend to pour an enormous amount of money in research into cures for chronic diseases like cancer or diabetes type II. As a result, state budgets can be used for other important sectors such as education or infrastructure. Although private hospitals have immediate effects, it seems to me that the benefits are more significant for some mentioned reasons.