Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

It is certainly known that food demand has increased drastically over the years. It is thought that supermarkets should only carry those products that are made locally, rather than importing it from other countries. In my opinion, supermarkets should support the local economy and stock up goods from within the country, however the need for import is still essential. On one hand, supporting local businesses help the economy grow better and provides stability. Furthermore, the sellers gain financial benefit when their products are purchased frequently. Food export has existed since several years and it continues to grow. On the other hand, the need for import is important too as it provides variety of options to choose from. Moreover, some products are better made where they originally originate from like, Strawberries are best grown in USA due to their fertile land. However, it is important to mention that these products are expensive as compared to local products. However, many jobs depend on food exports and some less developed countries may even depend on this trade for economic survival. In spite of this, the importance of developing local trade should not be undervalued. In conclusion, I am certain that reducing food imports would have cultural and environmental benefits. What is more, the local economy should, in time, prosper commercially as the demand for local and regional products remains high resisting the competition from overseas.