Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. " What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, local markets are filled with exotic imported goods which leave little room on the shelf for local goods. Some might argue that local markets should solely sell regional merchandise. But in my opinion, I would prefer selling local foods in local markets more than imports from overseas. There are several reasons to explain why food consumption in a country without importing that takes its toll on many aspects of a country. If the number of supermarkets does not have a necessary innovation about ingredients, foods and among others; all residents will become bored with full of out of date products. This means that leading to the dire consequence which all citizens gradually steer clear of these products. Furthermore, the profit of the supermarkets would be declined considerably in the sense that the income of the staffs also could be excessively low, which throws their quality of life in disarray. The benefits of imports is in some countries is the lack of the essential domestic food products. For further elaboration, not all countries have the capabilities to achieve self sufficiency in the matter food products, either for the lack of fertile lands, the harsh conditions or even the lack of sustainable water source. therefore, some countries greatly depend on their neighbouring countries to suffice their need of some absent food products. But currently, many food imports, such as fruit, are transported thousands of miles by road, sea and air, making the product more expensive to buy and increasing pollution from exhaust fumes. Despite the fact that the trade in food exports has existed for many years, I am convinced that a reduction would bring significant financial and environmental gains. And we should imports overseas foods that our countries can’t grow. To sum up, I still agree people importing foods but i hardly support our local farmers. Beside the local economy should, in time, prosper commercially as the demand for local and regional products remains high resisting the competition from overseas.