Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, supermarkets are filled with food products from around the globe. Yet, there are arguments that supermarkets should not be fulled of imported food. I personally disagree with this idea. Firstly, if there are no imported food products in the supermarket, there will be a shortage of food, which are domestic products. Moreover, some nations do not have enough domestic food for their citizens due to the lack of fertile lands or even the shortage of water. The fact that these countries depends on agricultural nations, such as Ivory Coast has to import rice from Vietnam, which is an agricultural country. Secondly, the act of import increases significantly the chance of earning money and investing in a better live. Workers surely depend on this to raise their incomes. For instance, Kenya relies on their agricultural cuisine import to have a better live. Most Kenyans place their bets on this trade activity to have money for building constructions or having their children to attend schools. Thirdly, this trade activity absolutely reduce all the environment wastes. Additionally, far many food imports are transferred by sea, which cut down on not only the price of these cuisines but also the exhaust fumes. Take Russia as a case in point, with a long coastline, this country successfully lower the pollution which result from transporting food by road. To sum up, the benefits of food imports way overweight the domestic food. I am sure that culture, environment, and people will be profitable from food imports.