Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Some people claim that supermarkets should only sell domestic food product instead of importing those from foreign countries. In my point of view, while it helps improve the national economics, I disagree due to several reasons, specifically the loss in diversity of food choice and overseas cuisines. Firstly, it is true that the quantity of products which are produced within a country is not adequate to the consumer demands. Dense population leads to the need of a wide range of culinary goods, whereas not importing food from other countries creates limitation which disappoints customers with a small number of brands and sorts. Imagine walking through pallets with the some familiar brands, it is obviously bored with the few options: same quality, weight, freshness, etc. As consumers are disturbed, they would spend less time wondering and shopping in supermarkets, which directly affect the profits of those. Moreover, produce and seafood are geographically distinguishing around the world. Because of the differences of weather and geographic phenomena, a specific area can produce some delicacies that others can not. If supermarkets prevent the importation, customers would be dissatisfied with having no chance trying or eating foreign ingredients or Specialty. For example, if there no imports in supermarkets it is possible for a Canadian who want to have some rice, which is a type of produce grown mainly in tropical climate nations like Vietnam or Thailand To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, the assets of imported foods will be far more significant than employing foods self-produced.