Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

While some people are of the opinion that standard athletes should receive more payments than other important professionals, others believe this is not justified. In this essay I would discuss both views and explain why in my opinion there should not be so much difference in the pay of all professionals. To begin, those who are of the opinion that sports professionals should receive outrageous payments say so because of the following reasons. Firstly, they under-go pressure to perform well. This is because they do several training sessions. Hence, they put their personal lives on hold and concentrate in performing their best. For example, in the United Kingdom, the football association has a team for young boys where they teach them soccer from a tender age. Therefore athletes deserve enormous pay because they dedicate a long period of time for training. Secondly, international competitions bring fame to a country. That is to say, the success of an athlete representing a nation for a particular sport enhances the reputation of that country. This therefore increases the economy of that country. Hence athletes receive great pay commensurate to the advantage their success brings to the country. For instance, in 2009, the success of Nigeria Falcons in the Fifa World Cup resulted in economic gain for the country. On the other hand, there are other professionals such as teachers and doctors who are more important than sports professionals, but their annual salaries are very insignificant compared to that of successful athletes. This should not be the case because they impart greatly on the life of citizens. To exemplify, teachers impart knowledge on children and help to shape their character, thereby becoming better citizens of the country. Without teachers, the role of parents in educating their children would be futile. Similarly, doctors work tirelessly to save lives. To clarify this, they have spent up to ten years to study in the university and internship to acquire the necessary knowledge they require. However these professionals receive meager salaries and this should not be the case because of their valuable services. To illustrate this, the six months salary of a medical doctor in Nigeria is about the fee given to a cricket player per match in the United Kingdom. This cannot be justified in any way. To conclude, I believe there should not be so much difference in the pay of other professionals and successful sports men, as it is not fair or healthy. Professionals should be paid according to the service they render. The government should raise the salaries of other valuable professionals and collect taxes from sports professionals to ensure balance in the society.