The growth of income inequality is now recognized to be one of the most important developments in employment relations. On the one hand, some people believe that efficiency and equity are underlying objectives for work and employment relationships. While fairness is difficult to reduce to specific standards, various evidences show the majority of the population find the current income distribution as unacceptable even while underestimating the true magnitudes of differentials that exist.

On the other hand, a burst of new technology causes a rise in the demand of high level work, which in turn leads to a rise in earnings inequality, especially professional sports and entertainment. This rise in inequality occurs through demand for highly professional and skilled people who are needed to fill more technologically advanced works yet who are in short supply; and by the displacement of lower- and middle-skilled people who intensify competition for lower-wage works. However, both of the two views are still lacking the essential factor which is the overall revenue of business. It is impossible to raise up the wage while the revenue, in general, was lower than the expected salary pool. Sport clubs or entertainment companies usually have extremely high revenue since they attracted a huge number of spectators who are willing to pay for tickets, kits, souvenirs together with massive income from advertisement contracts. Others, such as hospitals or industrial factories may also have high revenue as well, but need to split the result of business to multiple positions and prioritize to the high-level and professional jobs whose cannot be replaced. Overall, it would be a challenge for balancing the wages between different positions and fields.