Q: Successful sports professionals can earn great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while other think it is unfair.

Every country’s law governing body has their own legal way of punishing public criminals. There are split arguments regarding the inclination of today's crime rate. It is often argued that long periods of incarceration is the solution, whilst another group of thinkers support that mental reinforcement is more essential. Both views will be discussed in the ensuing paragraphs. The primary opinion the supporters would put forward is the long term imprisonment of the criminals as the key to the prevalence of certain crimes and public violations. In this sense, law violators will be locked away and will make the local community to be effectively protected. Therefore, as a law-abiding citizen, I agree with this viewpoint since the government should make a plan of action for the safety and security of its people, which should be prioritized. The Philippine government's campaign for eradication of illegal drugs is a prime example, in which penalty includes life imprisonment or a huge amount of monetary fine for the criminals. On the contrary, it is also believed that the answer to the world's existing criminal crisis is the psychological aid to the violators. Moreover, this approach will be less traumatic and could help them adapt to their lives out of prison. Despite this, adaptation and cognitive support can still be achieved even after the time period of imprisonment, and because of that, this essay disagrees that psychological assistance is even better for the benefit of the majority. For instance, long term prisoners receive regular visits and jail staff conducts occupational therapy activities to assist these people to become productive. In conclusion, despite the benefits a long term detainment of criminals could effectively bring, such as safety and security to the society, some still feel that cognitive assistance is a must. However, it is a clear idea that a long period of incarceration stands out of the rest, primarily due to the relief and peace that it provides to the community.