Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that the dramatic rise in living standards throughout last decades have provided enormous benefits for our daily life, particularly type of entertainment. One of the most popular kinds of entertainment currently is social media. Although social media possess several advantages in terms of entertainment and relationship, shortage of actual interaction combining with personal risk are two disadvantages of it. Before presenting writer's idea, the following essay will analyze social media pros and cons. More specifically, it is apparent that social media benefits us, in terms of entertainment and relationship expansion. First, considering leisure purpose, there are myriad of various entertainment experiences to pleasing its users, ranging from online board games to numerous hilarious videos and short films. Second, with social media, users not only make friends all over the world, but also useful contacts such as online interviews or future partners. Social media is becoming convenient means of communication to widen our acquaintances or even establish global contacts. On the other hand, when it comes to drawbacks, face-to-face interaction and personal information turn out to be the two most outstanding ones. Due to the convenience of social media together with the fast pace of life, social media gradually take away the need for real conversation. Teenagers may text to friends for nearly an hour, but not willing to spend 30 minutes for confiding in with parents, for example. Moreover, social media possesses numerous risks related to sharing personal information. Sharing information unconsciously may lead to identity thieves, stalkers. According to several researchers, there is an unprecedented increase in the number of cyber criminals, such as rape or murder when those accidentally know the address shared, for example, on Facebook. From my perspective, I firmly advocate with the viewpoint that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of social media in terms of actual interaction an information leak. Sadly enough, kids these days only communicate through screens even with family members on dinners, which results in the slow death of actual conversation. In addition, it is cyber criminals caused by unawareness in posting information that I am afraid of the most while using social media. In a nutshell, social media is obviously beneficial regarding major type of pastime along with contacts expansion while lack of interaction and personal dangers are two scared-to-death negative points, when it comes to disadvantages of it