Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a big difference.

Man and his environment are an entity, not one can do without the other. The topic of whether the government and big companies or individuals could make an impact in caring for the environment remains a very controversial issue. In my opinion, i stronlgy disagree with the notion that individuals cannot do anything to improve the environment, because the bulk of the work rests on the people, as they have the greatest ability to make a difference and enforce the rule of law. To begin with, individuals make up the government, coporations and the society at large. If each individual can care for and improve his or her own personal space and surroundings, then the world will be better for it. Furthermore, even though the government is responsible for environmental policies, it is the job of the people to follow and implement this policies, as well as to report deterents to the authorities. For instance, in Lagos, Nigeria, in 2017, a survey was carried out to discover how the state was able to reduce public disposal of waste. It was revealed that this act reduced by 70%, when the people of the community become vigilant and reported people who openly littered the environment to the appropriate authorities. This proves ttat the people are majorly responsible for the environment. Although some schools of thought can argue that large companies and the government, have the manpower, infrastructure and financial capability to improve the environment, their visions cannot be actualised if the people that constitute them do not have the same drive. In addition, it falls on individuals to want to make the world a better and clean space, not only for humans but for all living creatures as well. For example, little things like making sure the waste generated at work places, go to the proper recycling bins and ensuring that the company or organizations, whether publicly or privately owned, make use of ecofriendly products, makes a huge difference. In conclusion, the question of who is in the best position to make a difference to improve the state of the surroundings, is it the government, coporate bodies or individuals? Is becoming increasingly popular. I strongly disagree with the opinion that people can do nothing to improve the environment because they make up even the government and are the drivers of change.