Success in todays society is measured in terms of wealth. What other measures of success should society take into consideration?

Working for longer hours is becoming increasingly common these days. The reason a lot of people do so is to earn money. However, it is equally, if not more, important to find a purpose in the work that we do as working just to earn well might lead to a burn-out in professional careers. This essay will discuss that while it is important to work hard to earn money, it is also essential to enjoy it. In today's world, having financial stability is quite crucial as we not only have a large number of bills to pay but also have a social status to maintain. It is thus required that people put in extra efforts at work to climb up the corporate ladder and earn more money. Based on a research by Harvard Business Review, more than 70% of the people in the US spend up to two extra hours at work every day to primarily get an overtime bonus in addition to getting their boss's attention. Thus, it is ubiquitous that more and more people are working extra to earn extra. Despite the fact that earning extra money can be good for a person, it should not be the sole driver for working hard. Doing so would only lead to people getting bored of their jobs and feeling discontent with their lives. Instead, it is critical that people identify the purpose in their jobs and find what they love doing, as that would give them a job satisfaction as well as a motivation to do better in their lives. For instance, teachers who realise their contribution to a child's future feel much happier about their jobs and lives than those who teach just for the handsome salaries at the end of the month. It is therefore important that people work hard for what they like as that pays them with much more than money. This essay argued that while it is necessary to work hard to earn money, it is much more rewarding to know the purpose of the job. In my opinion, it is essential that people follow their hearts in what they do for a living as it not only pays them with money but also makes them better and happier individuals.