Subjects such as art, sport and music are being dropped out of the school curriculum for subjects such as information technology. Many children suffer as a result of these changes.

Today, many people across the globe prefer to live independently or in small family groups instead of the traditional extended family networks. While such living arrangement is perceived by many to be greatly beneficial for them, I am of the view that this development in many societies is largely a negative one. In most cases, living alone or in smaller units can turn out to be more expensive than choosing to stay with other relatives in an extended household. This is because there are fewer members of the family to share the living expenses with. Hence, people who opt to live independently or in nuclear family structures tend to spend more for such areas as rent, food, utilities, and transportation, thereby limiting their financial resources and making it harder for them to make ends meet. Apart from this, those who choose this living arrangement often experiences a lack of family support. Although some might enjoy the freedom and flexibility, living in smaller family groups can bring, they soon realize that this can be an isolating and depressing experience. Being disconnected from their extended family, these individuals have no one to turn to for help or guidance, especially during the most difficult and trying times of their lives. In effect, they often feel left out and out on their own most of the time. Worst of all, this tendency among people negatively affects societies in a number of ways. With less interaction with other family members, especially the elders, many individuals do not only unknowingly destroy the bonds that bring close-knit families together but also become completely oblivious of their heritage and ancestry. These circumstances, in turn, lead to the erosion of cultural values within families and communities in many nations all over the world. In conclusion, while it has become commonplace in many societies for individuals to live alone or in small family groups, I do not think that this is a positive trend. The drawbacks of such development far outweigh the benefits it brings.