Subjects such as Art, Sport and Music are being dropped from the school curriculum for subjects such as Information Technology. Many students suffer as a result of these changes.

In recent years, many schools have included latest and technology related subjects while dropped traditional subjects from the school syllabus. Whether old subjects should be replaced by modern one is a matter of great debate and I believe it is a difficult question to answer and different schools should adopt different solutions. Some believe that traditional subjects should be retained as part of the school curriculum as they have great values for the students. According to their arguments, school education is not merely a process to ensure a future job. This is rather a broader aspect and to build an enlightened future generation, we need more cultural and arts-related subjects than technical ones. Another group of people believe that technical subjects are more important than arts and sports subjects as they not only ensure better learning for students but also guarantee jobs in the future. From a more practical point of view, technical knowledge is more important in life and this is why many people and guardians support the change in the school curriculum. The changes in school curriculum often create some difficulties to the students and teachers but if effective measures are taken, that should not be a big dilemma. Sometimes the change comes all of a sudden and learners do not have a clue what to do. The school authorities, in this case, should play an important role to support the learners. I personally believe that school curriculum should be changed from time to time to make it more suitable to the latest trend. This, however, does not mean that we drop cultural and arts-related subjects from our school. While place for the new subjects should be made, old and important subjects should also be part of the national curriculum. In conclusion, school curriculum is a very sensitive issue and that should be very carefully planned. Modern subjects should be introduced, no doubt, but this should not make the traditional and old subjects less important.