Improvements in health, education and trade are essential for the development of poorer nations. However, the governments of richer nations should take more responsibility for helping the poorer nations in such areas.

These days, many people choose to live or work in other countries, which has been made possible because of the convenience of air travel and modern communications. I believe that this has more benefits than drawbacks. The disadvantage of this development is the distance that is put between family members. If a person moves away it is true that air travel and devices such as Skype mean that communication and contact can be maintained. However, it is likely that a person will only be able to return one or two times a year during the holidays, and speaking on Skype or via email is not the same as face-to-face contact. Despite this, there are significant advantages it can bring to people’s lives. Firstly, it means that people have the opportunity to see other parts of the world and also the way people live. For example, people from the West often go to work in Asia or the Middle East and vice-versa. This enriches many people’s lives as they get to learn about other languages, traditions, cultures and different ways of working rather than keeping their own traditions. In addition to this, on a broader level, it may also benefit other countries. If someone moves abroad to take a job position, it is usually because their skill is required there. To illustrate, nurses and doctors often move to be part of the staff in hospitals in other countries when there are shortages, so this is very valuable to the place they move to. I would therefore argue that although there are disadvantages of the current trend to live and work abroad, they are outweighed by the advantages. It can enrich people’s lives and the lives of people in the countries that they move to.