Should Teacher of the Year awards be decided through student evaluations of teachers, or through evaluations by other teachers? Please explain.

Many people think that it is a good idea to evaluate teachers every year and give them award for their teaching performance. While some people think that teachers should be evaluated by other teachers, I hold the opposite view. Personally, I agree that students should evaluate their teachers every year. To begin with, students know their teachers better that anyone else. They have a daily contact with their teachers in classes, so they can know the real performance for teachers. Furthermore, they are able to know if one teacher has a good style of teaching and he/ she able to deliver the message for students or not. Students can measure that by their understanding of lectures; and their performance in their final exams. For example, I had a good English teacher at my high school. He used to explain English vocabulary very well to students. Therefore, most students did a great job in their English final exam. Obviously, these students would not get that perfect result if their English teacher was not performing well. Thus, by letting students evaluate teachers, they can choose the most effective teachers in their school who help them to improve their knowledge. On the other hand, when teachers evaluate each other, they can choose the wrong teacher for the award because most teachers are friends with each other. They tend to spend most of the time together in school and sometimes out of school. As a result, they can show their preference in the evaluation to one of their close friends to get the award. For instance, when I was at elementary school, my math teacher Ahmed had very close friendship with other math teachers. They tend to go and smoke hookah everyday together. In addition, one of these math friends married from one of math teacher’s sister. Therefore, imagine when these teachers evaluated each other, they would defiantly give the wrong evaluation because they would show their preferences to their friends. In conclusion, I encourage schools to allow students to evaluate their teachers. This is because students are the best person who have a daily interaction with teachers; and they are able to know the real performance for most teachers.