Libraries should be shut down as better alternatives are available

It is often thought that nowadays libraries could be completely replaced with other better options such as the internet and electronic gadgets. However, I strongly disagree with this notion because libraries serve as a great place of information and knowledge for a larger section of society. To embark on, libraries act as a huge source of information. These have an enormous collection of books, journals, magazines and other rare materials that might not be accessed online. These institutions have arranged all sorts of information in a systematic way in order to make it convenient for everybody to access this easily and quickly. For instance, my university library has four floors and each floor is exclusive for a particular type of study material such as textbooks ad journals on the first floor, magazines and newspapers on second, literature and computer section on third and office on fourth. Thus, everything is available under one roof. Another reason to keep libraries alive is that these provide a quiet and comfortable environment for reading which may not be possible to arrange in other methods. Proper seating arrangement, lighting facilities, and noise-free conditions aid readers to concentrate fully on their studies. That’s why it is the best place to study for students, professors as well as people who are unable to find desirable reading situations at their homes or workplaces. Moreover, one another benefit is that most of the libraries allow free access to the paid websites which are mostly related to the latest research findings, research articles and papers. Sometimes, it is not possible for an individual to subscribe to these costly webpages on his/her own. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the modern world has a lot of alternatives available to access print media, but the role of libraries is still very vital and cannot be substituted with other prevalent methods.