Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and provide some solutions?

The numbers of students studying abroad have been increasing in recent years. It is often argued that this trend has a positive impact on students and the countries involved. First and foremost, studying abroad exposes students to different cultures and backgrounds. Learning others’ culture and backgrounds are vital and beneficial as it deepens an individual’s knowledge base. Likewise, sometimes it helps students to pick up another language which may be of good use in the future. For instance, statistics have shown that students who study abroad tend to perform better than those who study in local. Thus, it is safe to say that studying abroad can help students to learn about new cultures and backgrounds. However, having many overseas students in a country may increase the competition rate of getting accepted in local universities. This may have a negative impact on local students as it might be harder to be accepted by local universities and would be exceptionally tough to get into well-known universities. As an illustration, it is believed that 40% of candidates who are accepted in local universities are normally overseas students, leaving only 60% for the local students. Therefore, local students may be at a disadvantage if this trend continues. To conclude, it seems to me that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks and having more overseas students have a positive impact on students and the countries involved as overseas students get to expose themselves to different culture and backgrounds which may be of good use later in their life.