Students who go directly from school to university benefit less from and contribute less to their courses than those who take a job or travel in order to get more experience in ‘real world’ before they start higher education.

Experience is the best teacher, so goes an age old saying. Experience earned from work or from a foreign travel is a valuable asset to own, for a person. I strongly believe that a student who does not have work experience after school and has completed university reaps less benefit in the real world compared to the student who does. Today the corporates are not only seeking a graduation or post-graduation degree in their employees but also seeking relevant work experience to go with it. When an organisation hires an experienced ‘market ready’ professional, it saves a lot of time and money in training the employee. Thus, often during a recruitment drive, candidates who have no prior work experience end up as also-rans. Based on the work experience after school, a student can choose the domain of specialisation in which he wants to attend the university. On the contrary, a student entering the university directly after school generally tends to go with the herd while choosing the courses or domain at the university. A few months in the course, the student may not find it interesting but has no option to go back. In fact, the student may be compelled to find a job and pursue a career in the same field which may lead to the student not enjoying the work he does. A student who has earned and saved money after school can pay a portion of his fees on his own and has to take a lesser student loan for paying the university fees. On the other hand, a student directly entering university after school has paid the entire fees from the student loan. The student loan is a menace. According to a survey 8 to 10% of people in the USA repay student loans even at the age of 60. In conclusion, considering the above points, I can say with conviction that it is better to work for a few years and then enter a university than to directly attend university after school. Apart from the monetary benefits, this approach also has benefits like individual growth and development.