Students who go directly from school to university benefit less from and contribute less to their courses than those who take a job or travel in order to get more experience in ‘real world’ before they start higher education.

It is believed that young people who directly continue their study in an undergraduate course get less benefit and make fewer contributions to their program of study, compare to students who already have job experiences or travelled to another area to gain experiences in the workplace before they continue their university studies. With regard to the statement, I personally agree with it and the following essay will discuss in details. Some high school graduates choose to enter the university directly after they have finished their secondary school studies, and it is believed that they have some weak points. As they lack the real-world experiences, they prefer not to actively responses to the tutor's lecture. Most of them would accept all of the lecturers' discussions, though tutors could mislead with their presentations. Besides that, although these students might get good academic results, it would not guarantee that they would perform well in their workplaces. They only knew about theories that underlie behind their field of study, whereas in the real world, sometimes the theory contradict to the practice. On the other hand, there are students who took several years trip to another place to gain cultural experiences or take some jobs to get work experiences, before they continue their undergraduate studies. Many people think that these valuable experiences will be positively impacted to their further studies. As they have gained real world experiences in their life, they could give some feedbacks, responses and shares their experiences in the classroom, which would make the atmosphere of the class, would be alive and positive. Besides that, during their study, they could also learn how to integrate and connect the theory with their previous work experiences. In conclusion, high school graduates have their own choices after they have finished high school. Some of them prefer to continue to the university study, while others choose to work for several years or take a trip to another area before they continue their higher study. In my opinion, I do believe that students who have had real world experiences give more significant contributions to their class and get more benefits from the study, than those who directly continue their further study.