Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught.

It is a topical debate whether the schools should offer students the academic subjects only, and other practical skills such as cooking and dressing should not be in the curriculum. Although academic results have a tremendous value for the undergraduates, I opt for the idea when nontheorectical subjects are also considerable at school. Admittedly, to pursue tertiary education and to be accepted to a top-tier institution, school-leavers must pass the exam with the flying colors. This means the schools themselves have to mainly focus on teaching students what needed for the tests. Furthermore, students who have graduated from a famous university are likely to have a chance to get a lucrative salary as they come to work. In my country, many enterprises require their applicants to hold a certain degree for their managerial levels, so only the qualified candidates are able to get the job. The practical skills such as cooking or dressing, however, are also needed for their lives; therefore, schools should provide their undergraduates with the basic survival courses apart from the academic program. An astonishing number of young adults nowadays do not want to live independently from their families because they cannot take care of themselves. Furthermore, it is meaningless to force the students to pursue higher education if they do not want to. Some students are not interested in studying, they may find these vocational courses useful. These such skills may be the first step for them to realize which talents they possess. In conclusion, although I comprehensively understand why people argue schools are the place where only the academic programs are taught, I also believe other skills such as cooking or dressing should have their place at school.