Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking and dressing should not be taught.

It is believed that school should be considered as a place where students study academic subjects to pass examinations rather than learn practical skills such as cooking and dressing. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with this opinion for the following reasons. First, it is clear that learners should be equipped with essential skills as soon as possible. This means that realistic plans and programs focusing on gaining soft skills should be introduced by the cooperation of both families and schools. So they can understand the importance of having these abilities and also know how to apply them to solve problems in reality. Besides, attending skill-building class is also an effective way for students can unwind after many hours of studying academic subjects. Moreover, skillfull at doing housework can benefit students in various ways. For instance, when they get into the colleges and make a decision to live far from home, they may have to take adaptation in a new environment without the assistance of their parents. As a result, cooking and cleaning are the necessary tools to overcome the hard obstacles in life. In addition, when pupils engage in a meeting or extracurricular activities, dressing skills can help them become more self-confident to choose suitable out-fits to make a positive impression on the guests. It true that acquiring academic knowledge through subjects like mathematics, physics or chemistry can bring an excellent result to learners. With a good record, they will have a chance to get a scholarship and pursue their research project in another nation. But unfortunately, these people are few. In sum, I believe that the young generation should be expert in skills such as cookery and dressing while they are in high school. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the crucial of academic understanding because the opportunities that can come to us. Therefore, general education should aim to balance these two points.