Students of a university have a long break between universitysemesters; the university requires all students to do one of thefollowing for one month during the break: 1. Students must take a course on the subject that has no directconnection to their major

Nowadays, as the technology evolves and creates more and more different and significant job positions, the features which make a person qualified for a job differ. However, the one thing that has not been changed for decades is the need for people who are not only good in academic parts of a job but also brilliant in the practical fields. Even you can find some employers who are more focused on the practical experiences of their employees. So, I personally think it is much more beneficial for students to volunteer and work in different places and various job positions rather than just study a brand-new subject. I will aptly explain my reasons below. First, let me imply the role of this volunteer practical work in the experience of a student. Most of the time, when an organization wants to hire a person, it looks back at the work experience one has in that special field. Employers often assume that the more experienced you are, the more qualified you can be for that job. This matter actually was proved by several studies that scientists carried out. They play up that people who have some practical experience, face more and better job offers and of courses, they have a more successful career. They attribute these outcomes to the experiences one achieves through handling problems, managing stress and confronting hard situations in that voluntary work. Let me shed light on a common process around us to emphasize the importance of this issue. A lot of companies now have some training programs for the people whom they are going to hire. The philosophy behind these training programs is this gaining experience process. Therefore, you can see how important this factor really is. As the second reason, I want to point out something which is widely accepted. It' s now impossible to neglect the effect of this internship on the student’s knowledge. Experiments carried out in the developed countries vividly show that the things students learn from these internships are much more useful and of course, they have learned them better and more deeply. Furthermore, the scientists explain they have found out that there are numerous things one can learn from these experiences such as team work, patience, the art of managing, etc. These features are actually so valuable for the employers because these factors are directly related to the success one can have in his line of work. This is exactly why some universities encourage their students to participate in at least one or two internships or volunteer jobs along with their studying. I, myself, majored in mechanical engineering. I couldn' t have achieved the position that I have today in my firm if I hadn' t/had I not taken part in three internships through my university years. As the last reason, I think it' s important to pay attention to the changes this experience causes on the social life of the students. Because of the rapid development of technology, some students somehow (have)got/get detached from their friends and families or in other words, they got depressed up to different levels. This voluntary work can really be a positive change for these students, a change that can cause them to be happy, extroverted and productive again. I witnessed my closest friend in college going through this exact procedure. She was depressed due to moving away from her family and former friends to the city for college. Her stage of depression was so formidable that her family wanted her back because they were very worried about her health and mental condition. But our professors encouraged her to take part in one of these voluntary works which totally made the tables turn for her. She got happy and healthy again after a short amount of time. Therefore, as the aforementioned points cited, the best possible way to improve your future life is to take part in a voluntary program. Specially, it is much more beneficial compared to taking academic courses in different fields. As you can understand, it is highly recommended not only by me or the universities but also by scientists to participate in these kind of programs to get the best out of your youth and build the brightest future for yourself.