Students in schools and university learn more lesson with their teachers when compared to other sources ( e. g. , Television and internet).

Digital communication methods such as emails, text-messaging and virtual social networks have been helping billio30ns of people write and read messages on a daily basis. At first glance, this appears to support reading and writing skills. However, I believe that these means of communication have a negative impact on one’s overall ability to read and write. The most important reason for my opinion is the proclivity to use informal language in communication via mobiles and computers. Whereas serious reading and writing involve the exposure to formal language, most of the messages exchanged using mobiles and computers are rather short and contain spoken expressions. This is because on a digital platform, time saving and convenience, rather than the sophistication of language, are the utmost priority of people. In brief, the more frequently people use a form of mobile and computer-based communication, the more likely informal expressions would dominate their use of language. Another reason for the exacerbation of reading and writing abilities is the over-dependence on technological assistance. This is the case because users of mobiles and computers are usually aided by spell-check and automatic proofreading services when writing a message. Some computer programmes can also find the best word choice to avoid vocabulary mistakes. As these processes are continually repeated, users’ sense of spelling and grammar and lexical range may gradually erode. Eventually, this erosion leads to the degradation of both the writing and reading skills. In conclusion, due to the tendency towards using spoken language and the over-reliance on proofreading software when communicating via computers and mobiles, I am convinced that digital communication has an adverse impact on one’s overall reading and writing level.