Students in a university club want to help others, but they can choose only one project a year: A: help those students in nearby primary school with reading and mathematics, B: Help people who cannot afford to build or rent a home to build a house, C: Vis

Nowadays, many people believe that it would be better for our environment and economy if people give priority to eating locally grown foods over using foods that are travelled thousands of miles. This essay discusses both points of view and presents my own position. As regards the pros, locally grown food brings many benefits to the environment and the economy. Firstly, it can mitigate an adverse impact on our environment. This is because imported foods that are transported through various means of transport such as trains or ships can contribute not only to enhancing the food price but to increasing pollution from exhaust fumes. In contrast, using more local food reduces significantly the carbon footprint and eliminates transportation expenses. Local food travels much less distance to market than typical fresh or processed grocery store foods, therefore using less fuel and generating fewer greenhouse gases. Furthermore, it also provides more job opportunities for local people in producing on farms and selling to customers. As a result, by doing so, this can boost the local economic growth as well as lessen our impact on the environment. In terms of cons, if one only ate domestic food, they would not be able to enjoy the wide range of fruits and vegetables from all around the globe. Whereas, humans can have access to more choices in food markets thanks to importing food. To begin with, many countries are impossible for growing fruits which can only be cultivated in certain regions due to geographical and climatic reasons. Take durian as an example, it is only grown in tropical countries such as Vietnam or Thailand. Moreover, in the ever-growing world, more foods will be produced to meet basic needs, but locally produced food does not always reach those in need. Therefore, transporting food is the most viable option to cater to the needs of humankind. In conclusion, eating locally produced food brings both benefits and drawbacks; however, enough food to feed everyone is the key factor, although it can harm the environment. Thus, I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.