Sport is becoming a business with high income for professionals and more companies have involved in financial and in other ways. Is it a positive or negative development

It is true that sport has been becoming a multi-billion-dollar industry in which many professionals have received big sums of money and enterprises have involved in not financial issues but other ways. Despite the fact that this tendency has some demerits, I still believe that it is a positive development. On the one hand, there are some negative effects resulted from this trend. Firstly, this might create an unfairness between individuals in society since many companies strongly invest their money in sport games, which would be used as great awards for brilliant players. For example, in the V-league 2018, the winner team has received billions of Vietnam dong from great corporations in each tournament. Although each team member has trained rigorously in order to win the championship, it still seems to me that they could earn their living much easier than others in society. In fact, many employees who have great contribution to society’s development including teachers or doctors are really poorly paid. In addition, allocating huge budget in sporting events might also mean that business would spend less on subsidizing homeless people or contributing to charity programs. However, I would argue that the above trend is a positive development. The first reason is that the audience would be able to watch spectacular competitions since the gamers have tried to put great effort in intense training to gain success and the victory in each match bring honors to not individuals, groups but also to the whole country. Moreover, with the new technique and equipment which have been invested, athletes could practice and perform in the best condition. This in turn helps the national entertainment industry develops, which provide people with a variety of choice in their pastime. Most importantly, through those sporting events, sponsoring companies could effectively do marketing and maximize their profits. In conclusion, the fact that sport has become a business is an irreversible trend. While this development has dark side, I am convinced that it is a positive development.