Sport is becoming a business with high income for professionals and more companies have involved in financial and in other ways. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the business of sports as a lucrative industry has been receiving a great deal of public attention. In my opinion, although this trend is not without disadvantages, it brings more benefits to be considered a positive development. On the one hand, there are a number of bad situations when the participation of companies and their sponsorship has made games become not transparent. To begin with, many sports companies might resort to sports fraud in order to obtain economic or political benefits. For example, a few clubs would put aside rules for sports leagues and competitions in favor of others. In addition, if clubs in the same association or league are deprived of the opportunity to compete, the competition principle could be infringed. Therefore, when sports and economy are tied one to another, it is difficult for audiences to have fair matches. On the other hand, despite negatively unexpected circumstances above, a whole host of advantages when sport is both a big-league driver and a job creator will justify those. Firstly, since contracts from different sports companies typically offer professional athletes with a guaranteed salary. In other words, this business gives the players some financial security even if they do not play in the unfavorable season. Secondly, by taking advantage of sports as a country’s economic sector, other sectors may be benefited. In particular, there will be more job opportunities in terms of tourism, services, and infrastructure development. In conclusion, sports with large sums of money would have some problems; however, they are beneficial for people and the country as a whole, which is more significant.