In some countries the number of people who visit art galleries is declining What are the reasons for this What can be done to solve this situation

In modern society, visitation of art museums is decreasing. This is because people are not interested of visiting art exhibitions and prefer other types of entertainment. The key to solving the issue is promotion of art centers, conducting festivals involving arts and exhibition of popular collections. Declining of the number of visitors in art centers and museums is caused by reducing overall interest in it among the people. As we know “the beauty is in the eyes of beholder” and if persons believed that a subject was boring, they would never attend it. In addition, modern reality offers us plenty of ways to spend free time, including the highly addictive Internet. Whereas art collections are staying the same for years and the local community have seen it as a rule. One of the ways to tackle the issue is invitation of foreign artists’ exhibitions and famous collections. Thus, this measure will increase number of the domestic visitors and draw an attention of the foreign tourists. Along with it, a promotion campaign should be brought into the action; as many people hear about coming exhibition, as many will visit it. Among other things, thematic festivals with an art collection may attract more viewers. For instance, a thematic autumn festival can include some workshops for painting of the autumn landscape as well as a gallery of paintings depicting the autumn in different technic. In conclusion, the cause behind declining of the number visitations of fine art galleries is lack of interest in seeing it. Some measures can be taken for solving it, such as advertising, art festival conduction and brining well-known collections from other museums.