In recent years children have been given more freedom than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is noticeable that young generations have been given more freedom than in the past in recent years, raising many questions of its significant impacts on young people’ future. Although the disadvantages associated with could be pronounced, this pattern culminates in more negative consequences. On the one hand, It should be acknowledged that this trend could be fraught with pitfalls, hampering children’s development. Giving children the autonomy without proper parental guidance means higher possibilities that their mind could be contaminated by their outside forces, reshaping their perceptions of the society. For example, young people could freely get access to violent and X-rated materials without the parental supervision, leading to some impairments in their mental health. Therefore, the likelihood of breeding the future offenders is inevitable. On the other hand, there are many positive impacts when it comes to children getting more freedom. First, Children would be given more discretion to experience the outside world and assimilate into the society. This acts as an incentive for their acquisition of life experience and especially independent skill, which are proved to the key to any individual’s success in the future. In addition, children could choose their lifestyle based on their personal preferences without being affected by the traditional beliefs and prejudices from the older ones. For instance, homosexual male children could express their true sexual orientation and personalities with no fear of old gender-role perceptions from old generations like those in the past. In conclusion, it is highly recommended that children should be given more autonomy for some advantages of life quality enhancement and free lifestyle. However, young children should discourage some negative factors which could perchance lead them to the path of crime commissions.