Many companies use advertising to increase sales. What are the main reasons that make advertisement effective? Is it good or bad thing for the society?

It is common that advertisements are used by companies in order to increase sales. There are few causes why advertising is so productive. In my opinion, it is as beneficial as harmful for the society. The main reason advertisements are successful is that they are targeting specific group of people who will be probably interested in it. For instance, different sports clothes, diet supplements, sport' s gear are promoted in such way that your training processes won’t be looking as much joyful as it could be with a product which an advertisement suggest. In addition, advertising is informing us about products and services about which people would not be aware if advertisements were not present. Those who believes that advertising is harmful, have many justifiable concerns such as is pervasive and invasive. It is everywhere and bombarding us with unnecessary messages any other minute. In addition, advertisements encourage us to make compulsive purchases of things that people not really need. For example, our society does not need any kind of junk food but adds push it persistently. In contradiction, any service or product, which people actually need, does not require any advertising. Thus, we would rarely see advertisements of such products as vegetables, meet, gasoline or utilities. However, advertising can be extremely beneficial for the society. Advertising is an incredibly effective and powerful way to spread the word about important issues and products, such as AIDS awareness, diabetes monitors, tobacco and alcohol risks, and other health-related concerns. If it were not for mass-market multi-media campaigns informing us about public health and safety concerns, the world would be a much more dangerous place. In conclusion, it is worth noting that advertising has both positive and negative aspects to it. On balance however, I think that the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages.