Sometimes people think that young people should be encouraged to leave their family at certain age, while others think that it is better for them to remain with their families. What is your view.

Some people believed that youngsters are predisposed to many risks, and thus, should stay back in their homes at all times. However, others think that they should be supported to leave their families at some time. In my view, growing children should be given opportunity to live away from their homes from about 14 to 15 years. One good reason why young ones should be encouraged to leave their house at some age is the need to become independent. This could be achieved by registering them in a boarding school where they would live in the school environment under scrutiny with other students. By this means, they not only become independent, but also learn how to interact with strangers, thereby improving on both communication and social skills. For instance, I could remember that when I was in the college, I relied on my parents for virtually everything, such as waking up in the morning and washing my clothes, in junior classes because I was a day student, but I became so independent while in senior classes when I moved to live in the boarding room. Another point to consider is that living outside one's house enables young persons to learn other people's way of life. In other words, they would have a diversified knowledge and culture. It may also include good moral behaviours and other skills such as a style of cooking, prayer and respect. For example, my nephew, John, who was known to be very rude was noticed to have become very obedient after spending 5 weeks holidays in his uncle's place in Abuja. His sudden change was attributed to the attitudes of his cousins whom are known to be calm, humble and respectful. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion, I believe that being independent and having diversified knowledge are very important reasons why youngsters should be motivated to leave their families at about 14 to 15 years sometimes.