In some societies the number of crime committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crime should receive adult punishment.

In some parts of the world, there have been a rise in the crime attributed to the youths. Hence, it is argued by some people that youngsters who commit serious crime should be punished like adults. I disagree with this view, as it is unjust, while it would expose teenagers to corrupting influences. First of all, it would be not be fair for teenagers that break important laws to serve the same punishment as adults. Many youths do not have the same experience as adults and they lack a full understanding of the laws and the judicial process. As a result, it would amount to injustice when these ones receive adults' punishments. For example, it would not be right for a 14 year old involved in physical assault that endangers the life of his peers to serve the same punishment an adult who commit similar crime receives. Thus, underage lawbreakers should not have the same punishments as adults. Furthermore, teenagers who are punished as grownups may be negatively affected. Often, adults who break major laws are confined to prison, an act which will have deleterious consequences for young ones, owing to the fact that they could be exposed to other criminal acts by hardened criminal when they are in prison. For instance, underaged lawbreakers in the United States of America are kept in juvenile correctional facilities to deter them from the undesired influences from adult criminals. Therefore, when youngsters are punished like adults, they could be negatively affected by other criminals. In conclusion, teenagers who break major laws should not be punished like adults, since it would not be just and they could be easily influenced by adult criminals. Efforts geared towards promoting this view should be encouraged.