Some young people look forward to a gear of travelling, a "gap year" before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time.

Education is a weapon which can be used to change the world for good. Few people opine that the fruits of good education depends on the quality of good teachers, whereas others believe that the academic success rests on the attitude of the students. Both arguments have their own viewpoints and a detailed analysis is required before arriving at any conclusion. Teachers are respected everywhere and in some cultures, (like India) are honoured more than god. They impart their knowledge and wisdom to the students who in turn form an integral part in the development of social circles and consequently help in building the nation. For example, famous leaders like Shashi Tharoor and Donald Trump never shy away to thank their school teachers for their guidance and support. Another reason why a teacher’s contribution can be attributed to a child’s triumph is because teachers are the second parents and, as a parent, teachers tries to give the best mental and emotional support to their students so that their students become a good human being too. On the other hand, few people argue that academic achievements are solely, the result of the student’s attitudeattitude. What’s more important is the ‘never give up’ attitude of the children. For example, renowned personalities like Albert Einstein and Steve Jobs never got the support from their teachers. They had a positive attitude and worked hard and reached the zenith of success. Another reason to support this argument is that, a teacher can only guide and explain about different things, but that may or may not be same for all the students, thereforetherefore few are always left behind that’s why if a child wants to achieve academic success, he/she must work hard. To sum up, the role of teachers in the development of students during their academic life cannot be underestimated, but I strongly support the fact that it is the attitude of a student which decides his/her success in life. A teacher can explain the method of doing any task, but they can’t force someone to do that task. That would depend entirely on the student.