Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a gap year, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others, this is an expensive waste of time. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

It is believed by many that taking a year off from studies and roaming around the world is an ultimate source of knowledge. While some believe that such act is a waste of time and I second the latter mode of thinking, as time is precious and wasting it will result in a waste of potential resources. In order to begin with, time once gone would never come back, meaning that what is now, would not remain the same, later in life. Therefore, if one has received the admission in university or college but decided to postpone it, might face difficulty getting into the same institute a year later, which would be because the centre has now more competent applicants or the institute has closed down the prospective department. Thus, after a year the situation is not the same as it was before, on account of change in time frame. Moreover, travelling requires financial resources as well, and spending valuable means on tours might result in deprivation of resources-allocated specifically for education. To cite one example, one of my friends had worked a part time job throughout his high school, and the hard earned money was saved for college. But then he decided to take a gap year and spent the whole money on trips. Moving forward, a year later when he decided to pursue education, nothing was left for tuition fees. Hence, the funds once saved could have been used for fees, if not wasted on visits. To conclude, in my opinion, time comes with opportunities in terms of financial resources and education and trading it off with a gap year or with travelling will result in loss of aforementioned positives.