Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year', before they begin work of university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time.

Nowadays, many teenagers are expecting to get a year for travelling before working or studying at a university. The reason for their demands is to make them see a wider range of opportunities and choices and I also agree with them. On the one hand, teens will gain a lot of knowledge by travelling. Different cultures of many countries can be seen if they have enough time for vacation. Moreover, taking a trip can reduce our stress and feel energized for the next step. Meanwhile, students can visit to their native town and reunite with their family. Beside travelling, young learners can also have a chance to prepare well for further education in a year. Likewise, adults can save money by doing a part-time job which might be helpful in their professional work. For instance, I volunteered about a year as a radiographer in one of the government hospitals before I begin work. On the other hand, taking a year for holiday is wasting our precious time. Therefore, I also agree that there will be problems if young people are taking a year-off. For example, visiting to many places within a year can be expensive and it will be a burden for your family to pay for your expenditure. Then, you will lack motivation about your future while you are only focusing on travelling. Next, you will face difficulties to memorize your previous study after taking a long trip. Overall, I strongly agree that youths should have a holiday before learning at college or starting their work. However, a year off is too much time for relaxation.