The advantages of English spreading as a global language will continue to outweigh the disadvantages

It is true that the usage of vernacular languages is decreasing day by day with a rapid pace and society is adopting major languages for a better communication with people of other ethnicity. Although such trend may prove fruitful for the concept of globalisation, however, at the same time it is a threat to the identity of many local cultures. First of all, the world would be a better place if there are less dialects as it would lead to less ambiguous. For example, it would be easier for two persons who have different backgrounds to understand each other. Further, all the opportunities are presented at the far away places on earth would be available to everyone. Thus, it is the first step for an equivocal society. Moreover, hesitation to face a new tradition or culture will be mitigated due to language bar. Hence, less languages spoken offers a better earth. On the other hand, the diminishing vernaculars will lead to the possibility of loosing the understanding of the artefacts or ancient text preserved by centuries for the benefit of the mankind. Texts like Ayurveda, Which has significant knowledge about medical science is available in Sanskrit and without proper knowledge about such language, it is impossible to access such books. Apart from that, without vernaculars a tribe or a particular culture will lose its identity and self respect which took decades to build. Thus, preserving such local languages becomes essential for us. In a nutshell, it could be inferred that while a single language is preferred for smooth functioning of the present and is also advocated by many, at the same time saving such vulnerable languages is our prime duty as well.