Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a ‘gap year’, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time.

There are different views about a long term trip to experience word after high school. Some young students believe that travelling abroad for one year would open their minds and improves their practical knowledge, On the other side, some believe spend a year during the most active and energetic times of youth in travelling is not acceptable and does not make any sense. In my opinion a gap year travelling should be taken before students will involve in true life, this could help them to choose suitable university subjects or apply proper jobs wisely. It is nice if the test of experience applied, graduated at high school generally means you have learned some theoretical courses and it is hard to use them in the real word, being far from family and facing other cultures is a very good way to gain new skills or knowledge, but a year should be planned carefully to avoid any waste of time and money. It should be mentioned, perhaps there is no second chance to enjoy a year travel in whole life so it is worth it to try. However, many students returning from a break in academic study find it very difficult to adjust to university activities and may end their study because of enjoying their daily life, or waste their gap year in worthless activities. Gap-year students are a year behind their highschoolschool friends and have forgotten many of the lessons learned in school. There are also many high school students who start a gap-year with good intentions, but fail to a worthwhile activity and end up wasting their time. In conclusion, I believe that a gap year travelling could be measured as second part of high school education, which provides students with a different kind of learning to open their minds for future planning based on real knowledge so the benefits of gap years in outweigh the problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.