Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this situation?

In recent years, due to increasing urbanization, many youngsters are migrating to cities for better opportunities, while leaving the older population in the countryside. There are few challenges because of this trend, such as no growth and development of the rural areas and no support for the older population. This essay will discuss both the problems in detail and suggest a few solutions to tackle these issues. Firstly, the essential factor for a developing country to prosper is to have agriculture as the backbone for growth. Agriculture is the primary occupation that adds employment and consumption to the economy. Farming is mainly a countryside activity which requires the participation of the young population. If the young generations move out of their hometown to work in cities, the agriculture would be slowed down or stopped in that region, which will, in turn, reduce the economy of the rural areas. Secondly, if there are no adults in the countryside, it will be challenging for older people to do things independently. For instance, the countryside does not have easy access to medical facilities. In case of any emergency, they wouldn’t have support for commute or assistance. To manage the above issues, the government should provide more lucrative employment opportunities in the country side, so that the youngsters can work in the field of their interest, as wells as they can take care of their parents. Another solution could be increasing the government investment that would help in establishing good schools and hospitals so that the young generation can have a better quality of life even in the countryside. To conclude, while it is difficult to stop the young generation from migrating towards the city, it is crucial to protect the economic growth and support the ageing people by offering more advanced facilities and opportunities that would force them to reconsider their decision to leave their hometown.