Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this situation?

Job availabilities and economical condition are integral parts of society. Thus, many people in the productive age are migrating to big cities in the search of better quality of life, leaving the elders to live in the countryside. This leads to several problems, such as overcrowd and poverty in a big city. However, there is a step that can be done to resolve the problems. Firstly, living in a big city is not a guarantee of a prosperous life. Particularly, if the people who move from the countryside do not have the skill to compete in the job, they will suffer and suck into poverty. Consequently, the poverty rate in cities will skyrocket. In addition, overcrowd problem will occur too because cities have limited space for housing. For instance, in Jakarta, there are plenty of migrated people who live in improper places after they move into the city. Nevertheless, urbanization issue can be tackled by providing job more opportunities in the countryside. By opening industrial and business areas, job opportunities and the economy will flourish. If there are enough jobs to support the economy, there will be fewer young people who move to cities and towns. One of the best practice is Japan, in that country, the industrial areas are distributed to small cities to ensure the job availability there. To conclude, poverty and overcrowd issues will occur in big cities if the migration rate is growing. However, these issues can be resolved by establishing industrial and business areas in the countryside to create job opportunities and provide better economic expectancy. This will prevent young people who are thirsty for experiences and opportunities from moving to big cities.