Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this issue?

With increasing employment opportunities in urban areas, more youth have been leaving rural areas to migrate to cities. This is causing a demographic imbalance leaving behind older population in villages. There are many ways to mitigate issues resulting from such an exodus resulting in an efficient population management. As cities get crowded, many civic facilities are compromised. While every citizen is entitled to certain education, health and hygiene standards, an increase in concentration of population in a certain area burdens the system. This results in scarcity or poor management of resources. As cities get choked with people, there is also an adverse effect on the environment. Poor waste management results in air and water pollution. Effects are also realized at a societal level. Many individuals are known to find it hard to survive in such competing environments. This can also result in an increase in crime. While it is true that cities certainly offer more employment prospects, the Government must take active steps to ensure that such migrations are planned efficiently. The Government can introduce a merit based points system allowing only qualified youth with active jobs offers to move to the cities. More funding can be allocated to initiate small scale industries in rural areas that allow even women to find employment opportunities. To conclude, if we want to create and maintain healthy societies, it is important that we manage well the problems resulting from mass migrations. The Government has a big role to play in ensuring that both, cities and rural areas offer a good mix of employment opportunities and other civic facilities to its citizens.