Some young people are leaving countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in countryside? What are the problems of this issue? What can be done to solve this problem?

In majority of remote and rural areas, the population is dominated by elders as it is common for young people to relocate to major cities and towns for work and study. This situation will be more significant owing to the aging society, causing issues such as the limited workforce and abandoned houses in the rural communities. This essay will explore the issues around the topic and provide some possible solutions. One of the significant problems, which is anticipated by the relocation of young people from their hometown to bigger cities including lack of workers in the rural areas. As there are more job opportunities with higher salaries in a metropolitan city, the most of young people choose to move out of their hometown. This may result in an economic stagnation and makes the local community less attractive to move in. In addition, there will be less people looking after the elderly, increasing abandoned houses after elderly passed away. Thus, there are many problems caused by this phenomenon. The government should implement some measurements to solve this issue as the movement of younger generation out of their hometown to the big cities not only cause above mentioned issues, but also contributes to overpopulation in the central areas. One way of tackling this issue is to invest funds in the local community and make it more attractive for younger generations to work and study. For example, building academic institutions and bringing major companies in the remote areas would persuade young people to remain in their hometown. To sum up, Relocation of young people from their hometown to major cities impact negatively on rural communities, decreasing the number of workforce and slowing down the economic growth. Unless some measurements are taken by the government, this issue will be more and more significant.