Food travels thousands of miles from farms to consumers. some people believe we should buy food from local farmer to protect the environment and support local businesses. do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, exporting and importing food from abroad is very popular. While some believe that buying imported products is harmful for the environment and the local businesses, others think that it is beneficial for the economy. In my opinion, the consumption of local food will aid the environment and the economy of a nation, however there will be some drawbacks. Firstly, stopping the transportation of goods from a country to another is the decrease rate of pollution caused during the process. In other words, enormous amount of fossil fuels is used while exporting from one country. Therefore, air pollution will automatically be less if people stop buying imported goods. Secondly, another evident on how buying from local farmers is advantageous is that products will be more affordable and suppliers will gain more profit. To put it differently, less competitors in the market will reduce several costs such as marketing studies resulting in employing more people to help which will boost the economy. For instance, a research showed that comparing, to countries where people are encouraged to buy imported goods, countries that advertise local suppliers have a less employment rate. On the other hand, importing products from other countries provides the pupils a higher variety of goods. The climate changes from a place to another, resulting in several vegetables and fruits to non-existence of some type of food. For example, exotic fruits only grow in hot weathers where other fruits and veggies like apple and grapes need a cold climate. Hence, even though I believe that local suppliers should have preferences over international farmers, I also think that imported merchandise is essential in a market for more options. In conclusion, While there are plus points of not transporting goods from one country to another regarding the environment and expanding the local market, nevertheless, it will cause for less variety of choices to customers.