Some young people are leaving countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in countryside? What are the problems of this issue? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the 18th century, when the industrial revolution occurred, there were huge immigration waves from rural areas to big cities, where factories were constructed. Nowadays, this trend still remains, with more and more youngsters moving away from their small towns. But, a plethora of problems is created due to this act. How can we resolve them? In this essay I will discuss the consequences and solutions to this. Firstly, younger people are those that withhold our economy, which means, that in the countryside this balance will be broken. The circulation of money will be limited and not all businesses will be able to survive. To illustrate a study was conducted in a span of 10 years in Greece, that has shown that, in small towns and villages more than 40% of local business were forced to close, due to difficulties. Regarding the possible solutions, secondly, the government has to act in order to keep people in these areas. Moreover, offering higher paying jobs for individuals of younger age, which is essential for them to sustain themselves. Also, in order for them to be entertained and happy, more facilities, like football pitches and lobbies for community clubs would be required. For example, the university of Cambridge surveyed 18-year old teens, in a village in northern England, and found out that 82% of them were not satisfied with the facilities offered. In conclusion, adolescents moving away from their hometowns, has only a negative effect on their community. But, if the government takes this matter in its hand, and applies these solutions, we will be a step closer to a balanced society.