Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

We are living in a technology driven society now. The pioneer and game-changer technologic development no doubt had been the Internet which came to people’s lives in the 1990’s. After the arrival of Internet or world wide web, the system of every sector has changed and stayed in a position to comply with it. Education is one of the sectors which had been affected from what Internet brought to our lives. As a result, universities started to run online education courses, workshops or even diploma programs which must be considered as a positive development. I strongly believe that online courses carried out by universities provided diversity in the topics of study and convenience irrespective of time and venue. Firstly, I must state that the sea of knowledge could be defined as infinite. As we are living in an era which requires us to gain knowledge and then sell it, we sure must have freedom to choose in a variety of topics in order to gather the information we crave for. Hence, online courses provide such diversity to the students worldwide. For instance, there is an opportunity to study from arts to science and social studies to informatics. Furthermore, there is a wide range of options. Secondly, it provides students much convenience than formal education. Moreover, when we think back to our school years, most of us had problems with catching the class right on time and every so often commuting became a major issue. With the practicality which online studies bring, it has created an environment to study regardless of time and place. After all, it is the student’s decision to make. We realize the benefits of online study especially when one is working. To illustrate, if one has a full-time employment, it would be in his or her disposal to study the interested subject either in the coziness of the home or even out in a park. In a nutshell, as we are living in a progressive world in terms of technology, it is better to use its advantages for our favour. Online courses managed by universities all around world provide each one us a diverse range of interesting subjects and make it easier for us to reach the information we need. Nevertheless, this happens to be one of the positive sides of Internet which must be used wisely.