Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, many educational institutions teach courses online and encourage people to study over internet. In my opinion, this is a positive aspect as it makes the education not only affordable to many students but also good for the environment. Firstly, studying courses online is lot cheaper when compared to that of taking a regular course in a university. Apart paying the tution fees, students need to spend money for accommodation, food and travel. Moreover, though few of the students depend on their parents for money, many of them have to do part-time work to cover the expenses, which inturn affect their study time and eventually their grades. For instance, according to a recenty study, students who do part-time job to pay for their studies tend to score less marks when compared to that of students who don't need to work. So, making education cheaper would attract lot many students who don't have much money to spend for their studies. Secondly, studying online brings in lots of benefits to the society and the environment. As students can learn their lessons at the comfort of their home, they don't need to spend their time on commute. Therefore, they gain more time to study and stay concentrated for more time. Furthermore, reduced travel results in lower levels of carbon footprint by every student, which is good for the nature. For example, travel by plane is the major contributor for the emission of carbon gases and reduced travel would result in lower carbon emissions. To conclude, e-learning courses are the way of the future and they are here to stay for the benefits they offer. Teaching courses online establishes a level playing field for all the students irrespective of their cultural and economical background, which is quite beneficial for the whole nation.