As well as making money, business should also have social responsibilities.

In the competitive business world, corporations face a barrage of problems that are waiting to be solved. Some of them are finance related and others are related to business operations that involve social issues. I hold the view that a company should not only have the ability to make a profit but also champion social responsibilities. Corporations that place an emphasis on corporate social responsibility typically have an easier experience when dealing with government regulators. On the contrary, businesses that demonstrate a reckless disregard in social responsibility often find themselves staving off various investigations and probes, usually viewed as socially irresponsible along with senior management. The more positive the public perception is that a corporation takes social responsibility seriously, the less likely it is that activist groups will stage a spate of protests to demand government inquiries against it. This is the sound reason that companies should take social responsibility into account. Having been recognized by customers that the company is part of the socially responsible strategy, the company’s revenue will be boosted. Some customers are willing to pay more for a product if they know a portion of the profit is going to worthy causes. What is more, if a company is active in local community such as providing lending services at low interest rate to low-income families, the company will be viewed positively by the community and potentially increase the company’s profit. To conclude, the benefit for a financially sound company with a sense of social responsibility can be far and wide, including a positive image, and improved sales.