Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, online courses are being offered by universities all around the globe to allow distance learning for students. This development can only be seen as positive since it benefits countless students. Online courses are mainly beneficial to students who cannot attend their universities due to living somewhere far or being unhealthy. A lot of students who come from rural areas find it hard to adapt to city life where the university is situated, therefore they suffer from homesickness. By offering courses online, those students are not forced to move into the university’s campus and can study their courses comfortably in their homes. This leads to happier and less stressed students who can do well academically. Moreover, unhealthy students who suffer from diseases that force them to be bedridden or who stay in hospitals can greatly benefit from learning online. If courses were not available online, those individuals would not be able to obtain a university degree. On the other hand, nothing is compared to being taught by a teacher in a real classroom. Students who attend classes can engage in meaningful discussions and ask questions, which is impossible to do in online classes. Additionally, the academic environment of universities can encourage students to study efficiently and work harder. For example, when students mix with their peers, they can learn new things and brainstorm ideas. Furthermore, easy access to useful facilities in universities, such as libraries and research centers is undeniably beneficial to one’s academic progress. In conclusion, offering online courses is certainly a positive development especially for unhealthy people as well as those who live in rural areas and want to study at a university. However, normal students who are able to go to universities should not use online courses as a substitute for university lectures.