There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

The world has witnessed lately an increasing number of small families over the big ones. This essay will discuss a couple of benefits and drawbacks of small families. What is advantageous about having a small size family is that it entails less financial support and less problems to deal with. To begin with, the more children there are, the more expensive it becomes to provide a decent living for them. This means that parents have a hard time satisfying the needs of their kids. For example, a recent study suggested that in the USA, upper-middle-class famillies fall to middle-class because parents struggle paying their children’s education fees. Further, parents in small famillies do not worry much about their children compared to large families where squabbles amongst siblings are always on. for example, in Sweden the majority of famillies are of no more than 2 kids. This is considered one the reasons why it considered one of the happiest countries. However, the fact of having small families has its share of drawbacks as children do not find companions to interact with and small families curb the competition among siblings. First off, children miss the chance to play with their brother/sister while growing up and tend to feel lonely. This might also affect their future lives if they did not socialise with the outsiders. Moreover, a low number of siblings limits children from pushing themselves to the maximum in order to show their talents to earn their parents’ pride. For instance, Evidence shows that the most successful and wealthiest people were living in a large family and they had to worke harder than the others to stand out. To conclude, having a small family is beneficial as it does not need a fat bank account and entails less concerns. Wherease, it has drawbacks like absence of siblings to play with and less competition among brothers and sisters.