Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, many universities have started to provide study programs through the internet. While this tendency has changed the way people can study, I believe this an overall positive development considering the benefits to students as well as to the course provider. To begin with, the most prominent benefit of online study portals to students is that it saves a lot of time and effort by not attending classes in person. This is because such courses enable you to connect with your mentor while sitting at home. Take webinars as an example, in which thousands of students linked with their teacher through the web and get online classes according to their desirable schedule. By taking such classes there is no need to take physical classes, which saves a considerable amount of time. With regards to the course organizer, a vital benefit of such programs is that it could reduce the overall cost, and hence increase their profits. When they deliver e-learning courses, there is no need to maintain university premises and could lead to saving a significant amount of funds. For instance, recent research has proven that virtual universities have earned lucrative profits without compromise the quality of teaching. However, if they conducted all these classes at their premises, they will have invested an enormous amount of money on building and hiring maintenance staff, which could reduce their incomes. In conclusion, although the virtual education system has changed the way people learned, in my opinion, the positive sides of this development to both, educationalists and students are great in numbers.