Most people say that in order for one to be fluent in a language, they must live and work for sometime in that Country. Do you agree/disagree?

Majority of the people are of the opinion that for an individual to be familiar with a foreign language, they should reside and gain employment in the native land. In my view, I am strongly against the opinion because there are alternative sources of learning foreign languages without relocating to its origin nation. To begin with, immigrating to a native land just to learn their language comes with certain burden like finances. There are many factors attributing to the above view but settlement is the topmost priority when it comes to changing location. For instance, packing up bags from a known terrain, bidding farewell to close ones and moving into an unknown territory bring about thriving and adjustment such as having adequate money to sustain one till a job opportunity comes knocking. In addition, medical insurance is imperative in such journey alongside a living space, more so learning the nation culture and law is definite as certain continents have their lay down rules which must be kept. Using the ibo a tribe in Nigeria as an example, during their yam festival strangers are not to be seen outside, and no yam should be eaten until three weeks after the festival is concluded. A foreigner that relocate to a state with such laws just to learn a language stand at risk of breaking the rules unknowingly and probably facing the consequences which are often severe. Another point to consider is that learning another language can be done anywhere due to modern technology which have evolved in recent times. One of such is an online platform called internet that has vast amount of information and is also accessible at any given time or location. Furthermore, a search engine named GOOGLE enables one to know how and what tools can be used to learn different language. For instance, a doulingo app is an application used for learning French. Additionally, there are traditional based centers where languages are taught in a classroom method such as Alliance Francais which is a centre where an individual can get a one on one tutorial to learn and speak second language effectively. In conclusion, based on the above points, I believe that there are various ways of learning another language without having to reside and work in that location.