Some people believe that residents are responsible for the place where they live to be clean and tidy. Others believe that the government is responsible.

One pressing issue for municipal councils nowadays relates to the debate between those who believe the vicinities around homes should be kept clean by the owners of the place and those who argue this should be a government’s responsability. This essay will discuss both views and I will provide my own perspective on this discussion. On one side of the argument, many support that terrains with houses are private areas and therefore its surroundings should be responsability of the owners. Cleaning and maintain areas such as sidewalks and public squares is a demanding task. Therefore, most mayorships do not have the necessary budget to afford this need. For example, in the Winter, it is not reasonable to suppose government would have enough workers to remove snow from every single street of the municipal area. If these places are not maintained on a daily basis, residents may be exposed to serious hazards, such as slippery roads and sidewalks. On the other hand, government collects a myriad of different taxes throughout the year to maintain public places, particularly those with high traffic and with special maintenance needs. Some circumstances demands highly skilled workers and heavy equipment for adequate maintenance of areas. For instance, if a tree falls during a heavy storm, only professionals with proper machinery will be able to restore the place to its normal configuration. Consequently, to avoid traffic interruption and major hazards, mayorships and officials usually focus on tasks that cannot be handled by regular citizens. In conclusion, I believe both sides have merits. In balance, even though public management organizations get taxes to maintain public spaces, I strongly believe residents should handle easier housekeeping tasks around the vicinities of their homes and rely on officials to manage heavy duty requirements that eventually may occur.